Results!!

100 on All-State woot.

One of my goals is accomplished! I totally think I deserved this because I practiced my butt off for the past three years and I have never recieved good results. Not only am I pleased with my score, I am so happy with my performance. I think I have finally gotten comfortable playing and performing because even when I practiced so much for NYSSMA in the past, my nerves would get the best of me and I would end up performing terribly. But finallllly. recognition. And I know you are all thinking Meens, you don’t always get what you deserve and it’s not about the results, but let me take full satisfaction and revel in my achievement.

ahhhhh

Okay I’m done. Honestly, when I got my scores I wasn’t even that elated. I have so much stuff to do and I think too much to have emotions. One checkmark doesn’t impact me as much as it should when my list is miles long. It’s such a pity actually. It’s not that I don’t care. How could I not care about something that I have been working towards short-term for a couple months and long-term for years. I’ve been playing flute for years for All-State. This is one area of my life where I acknowledge that I’m shallow. I love music and I love flute. I’ve really grown to appreciate flute over the last three years (even though I’ve played for seven years now) and I hope to involve myself in ensembles in the future, but I’m not going to be a professional musician. Performing with the best of the best student musicians may be the pinnacle of my musical career. which is why I’m so happy about all-state.

Leave a Reply

